What Dreams May Come

One of the things my wife always found strange about me is that I always try to listen to my dreams.  If I strongly remember a dream after waking up, I try to gleam any useful information from them.  Often, I find that these dreams are my subconscious screaming to tell me something.

We’re all familiar with stories of others who do this.  Like how movie director, James Cameron, got the idea of Terminator from a dream he had.  The dream was of a man who had ripped his skin off to reveal a robot skeleton underneath.  Or the classic story of Elias Howe, he was trying to invent the first ever sewing machine and couldn’t get past a problem he had been having.  Then one night he had a nightmare of being cooked by island natives.  The next day he remembered the unique spears the natives had and this was the inspiration of solving the problem with threading the needle for his machine.

So here are a few of my dreams.
Once, I had a strange dream of going out and buying record player.  I don’t know why, but I did.  And in the dream once the record player was in my hands, I woke up.  I couldn’t go back to sleep.

I spent the rest of the night reading up on record players.  I knew I wanted a new and not a used one.  I bookmarked what I wanted and since it was close to my birthday, it was my gift from my wife.

That first night I played the record player, I couldn’t believe the experience.  I still kept my childhood records from the 80s and began to play them one by one.  I was immediately transported back to the 80s.  These were songs I hadn’t heard in 25+ years.  These were songs that don’t get played on radio, or used in tv or movies, or put into commercials.  And I knew all the lyrics.

It reminded my of my youth.

Another dream I had took place a few years into the future and in the dream I was browsing around a shopping mall with my wife.  Going from store to store, I noticed that each store had some sort of Disney merchandise.  It was everywhere.  In the dream, I thought to myself, “I should buy some stock in Disney.”

When I woke up the next day, I decided to listen to that and bought shares in DIS for no reason other than I had a dream.  Didn’t bother with any research.

The stock is up 25% from where I bought it.

So, I have had a few more dream that I haven’t acted on yet.  They seem to be more complex and need sometime to make happen.  Some require learning a new skill.  Some require me to save some money to purchase.

But so far, it’s been a pretty good ride.

This entry was posted in general, random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Dreams May Come

  1. Pingback: Dream Again | Code Cheese

Leave a Reply

