Dream Again

I’ve discussed previously how I listen to my dreams and try to discern what they are tell me.

However, I’ve noticed a reoccurring theme that comes at least once a week these days.  Each dream is different, but it all has me performing the same action, playing guitar.  I could be playing my own guitar.  I could be playing a friend’s guitar.  I could have gone out and bought a new guitar.  I could be a younger or older version of myself playing guitar.  And in the dream, the guitar is always electric.

I’ve typically ignored these dreams; I’m a pianist remember?

bSometime ago, I decided to concentrate on one instrument and let go of the others, this included the guitar.  I wasn’t a college kid anymore, I needed to focus on one instrument.  I couldn’t manage dedicated practice time to all my musical interests.  So in the past four years, I’ve been studying jazz piano exclusively; taking private jazz piano lessons.  And I haven’t looked back since.

But these dreams still keep happening.  It’s obvious a part of me still hasn’t let go.

Therefore, this weekend I’m going to set up a small practice space in my home office away from the piano in the living room.  I’m not going to schedule a set practice time or have an agenda on what I play.  I’m just going to have my electric guitar connected to some headphones in my office and if I feel like practicing, it’s there for me.

We’ll see  how this goes.

a

This entry was posted in dreams, music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dream Again

  1. ROSES says:

    Most of our dreams result from our daily thoughts. Maybe you always loved playing the guitar and this love has always remained in your subconscious. Wishing you the best in your new plans.

    • I was never really good at playing guitar. Growing up, I always wanted to learn to play and started to arrange the guitar songs I liked on piano. It wasn’t until college that I bought the fancy guitar you see in the picture of this post. I think wanting to become proficient in guitar has been a lingering desire for some time.

      Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

