Ruby On Rails

At work, I mostly work on java related projects, but occasionally I get thrown some ruby on rails work.  I’ve always seen myself as a java coder with some ruby experience.

Just recently, Dave Hover, author of my favorite book Apprenticeship Patterns, has written on his blog about the on state of ruby rails development in the Chicago Area.

It’s an eye opening post.  I’ve known for some time that ruby is popular here in the midwest development shops especially in Chicago, but never realized that the well of ruby developers has gone dry and the need for new ruby developers has grown .

So what does this mean for me?  I plan on spending more of my personal time with ruby on rails in the coming year.  I’m also going to jump at whatever chance I can get working with ruby in my day job.  Most importantly, I’m also going to need to learn how to “flip the switch” in my brain, so I start dreaming in ruby code.

I think 2011 will be a good year.

This entry was posted in java, ruby and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ruby On Rails

  1. Pingback: Deceptive Ruby Learning | Code Cheese

Leave a Reply

