Deceptive Ruby Learning

Like I said in my previous post, I decided to jump at whatever chance I can get to work with ruby in my day job.  And sure enough, this week I was tasked to update some ruby code for an automated process we have running.  It runs as a daemon processes in one of our production servers.

I took peak at the code in subversion and my mouth dropped.  The application was not like the rails apps I’ve seen.  This was pure ruby, no rails.  It made me think of something I read recently.

…the subset of Ruby needed by Rails developers is different from what you’ll need in a pure-Ruby introduction…

From Ruby On Rails 3 Tutorial by Michael Hartl

So, this just solidifies my understanding of what probably most other developer know, that rails development is not the same as ruby development.

Just more to work on at home.

 

This entry was posted in ruby. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment