The Very Hungry Caterpillar


Like I’ve said in previous posts, my wife and I are expecting our first baby in September. As you can see in the photo, we decided to have “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” as a theme in the nursery.

I didn’t even think about seeing if there were ‘Hungry Caterpillar’ wall clings or posters for sale, I just took it upon myself and created my own. While constructing it, I had been thinking about my parenting and what values I find most important to impart to my children. With the paper and scissors in my hands cutting away, that’s when I realized this what I wanted for them.

What I want them to learn the most is to always be creators. Don’t stop because someone else says it’s not cool. The best stuff out there is the things we made ourselves and not bought or downloaded from the store.

Don’t like the music on the radio? Get busy writing your own songs.
Didn’t like the ending to a story book? Write your own ending.
Didn’t like the dialogue to a movie? Write your own script.
Want to have that awesome gun in Halo3? Build your own toy replica.

And for me:
Hate working around a bug in some open source project? Write your own patch and contribute.

This entry was posted in general and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Very Hungry Caterpillar

  1. Odhiambo says:

    If you don’t like the read, write…hehe. Anyway, that is the best life lesson; be the creator! Twill be of help in this “copy-this society”.

Leave a Reply

