Blogging Confidential

A small goal of mine for 2014 was to write on my blog more.  And I was really enjoying it at the beginning of year, regularly posting every Thursday morning.

But now, it’s March and my regular posting has slowed down.  Here are some of the challenges I’ve been struggling with since I started blogging again.

1) Relevant Content — Originally, this was supposed to be my tech blog.  I wanted a place to share my developer stories, the problems I’ve solved, and my learning.

However, with all the non-disclosure statements I’ve signed with my employer, I don’t know what’s safe to share outside of work anymore. Last month, I wrote this amazing story about a technical challenge my team and I were facin.  The post was pretty good and because it was written in a story form, even non-technical readers would have enjoyed it.

After writing it, the next day I decided not to post it.  I thought it might expose too much of my company’s infrastructure and development practices.  Since I had doubts of weither to post this or not, I thought it was safer not to. I could have gone to the legal department to have my posting reviewed, but that would pointless. They would say no anyway.

I started writing about my family and parenting.  Given the number of views I get, these seem to be popular.  Cute stories of toddlers and babies will always be loved.
But as husband and parent, I also want to protect the ones I love.  So, I’m cautious of the amount of content that I post about family on a public forum such as blog.

So, I limit what I write about work.  And I limit what I write about my family.  These are two biggest elements of who I am.  What else can I write about that’s relative?
I’m still trying to answer that.

2) Finding the time to write — Needless to say, being a father of two little girls is fun, but it has put an even greater restriction on my time.  Each girl needs their own time with Daddy when I’m home.  And I love giving my wife a break from the girls as well.
Many times,  my blogging has fallen off on my list of priorities.

Anyway, enough whining.  Let’s post this.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

